Sign in to follow this  
slim180

How the f**k do you guys afford all these mods? - the cheapo 180

EDIT: I was drunk when I wrote this the first time, I thought I was heaps funny. :rolleyes:

Hi!

I purchased my slut of a machine from a dealer in '08 (before I knew anything about Silvias) with an auto and a CA, my missus promptly named it Rosie (gay)

I bought it coz it had a sweet leather interior, I talked the salesman down $3000 and it went way harder than my falcon which I'd just burnt...

Untitled.jpg

I suppose my intention at the start (which is still my intention) was just to have a quick streeter that looked completely stock from the outside and do it relatively cheap (haha).

I was an apprentice carpenter at the time so it was a bit of a silly purchase but I thought I could buy a work ute with the left over money.

It turns out the only thing I can do with extra money is piss it up the wall, so this was carting what few tools I had around.

I don't have any photos of when I just got her because I didn't own a camera haha.

This one was was about 3 months later.

P1010177.JPG

Then about a week after the warranty ran out the head warped because of a $2 heater hose with a pinhole in it, that I was gonna "get around to" so $2 turned into $5000 for an SR halfcut and labour (not so cheap) Once I'd started researching into Silvias I realised I should've got one with an SR from the start so if it still had a working CA I probably would have sold it on...

This was about a cracked dash and faded paint later because it was sitting in the weather for f**kin ages as the workshop that was doing the swap had bulk smokos to do.

100_0329.JPG

So then I did what everyone was doing with their free $900 from KRudd and bought a HPI intercooler and a catch can...

100_0377.JPG